First, let me classify the stuff under this category.

  • quality newspapers, journals, magazines, websites
  • mainly scholarly books on the language of science and other relevant resources
  • some stuff for bookaholics, and just for fun

 

Conference Alerts, worldwide   https://conferencealerts.com/

Journals & Newspapers

  • IEEE Spectrum
  • Scientific American
  • Time
  • Newsweek
  • The Telegraph
  • The Guardian
  • The Wall Street Journal
  • The Economist
  • National Geographics
  • The New Yorker
  • The New York Review of Books
  • London Review of Books

Oxford University PressAcademic Insights for the Thinking World                            http://blog.oup.com/

LingQ  :  an Exciting  Languages Learning Project by Steve Kaufmann   https://www.lingq.com/

MIT OPENCOURSEWARE     https://ocw.mit.edu/index.htm

Khan Academy     https://www.khanacademy.org

Future of Working website     http://futureofworking.com/

Quora website     http://www.quora.com

Beall’s list      http://scholarlyoa.com/publishers/

The Thesis Whisperer      https://thesiswhisperer.com/

Open Culture   website     http://www.openculture.com/

SingularityHub                  https://singularityhub.com/

David Crystal’s  books (all of them, but especially “The Stories of English”) and blog

http://www.amazon.com/The-Stories-English-David-Crystal/dp/1585677191

http://www.davidcrystal.com/

Professor Ken Hyland   http://www2.caes.hku.hk/kenhyland/

Nancy Duarte’s books and blog   http://www.duarte.com/blog/

Professor Steven Darian‘s books (all of them, but especially  “Understanding The Language of Science”and  “The Tools of the Trade: Technique in Nonfiction”

http://www.amazon.com/Steven-G.-Darian/e/B001ICP2SE

https://linuslearning.com/product/the-tools-of-the-trade-technique-in-nonfiction/

https://www.amazon.com/Technique-Nonfiction-Tools-Steven-Darian/dp/1607975718

Emma Darwin’s blog     http://emmadarwin.typepad.com/thisitchofwriting/

RedLine     https://www.redlinels.com/examples-of-good-writing/

Byron Tullys blog and books     https://theoldmoneybook.com/  

https://www.amazon.com/Byron-Tully/e/B00OJZWKYG/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1471434639&sr=8-2-ent

Professor Ivan Megela writings      

http://www.korekta-vk.com/pres-kafe/avtory/megela

  • Tips on good writing and learning English

The Best Online Dictionaries        http://www.thefreedictionary.com/

Randi Reppen. Grammar and Beyond  –  by far the best course to learn English

4 parts, A1 to C1 levels  (available on amazon.com and elsewhere)

time-tested  (but also criticized nowadays) “Strunk&White”  http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_2?url=search-alias%3Dstripbooks&field-keywords=strunk+

Adrian Wallwork‘s (text)books

http://www.amazon.com/Adrian-Wallwork/e/B0034NF6TA

William Zinsser      http://www.amazon.com/Writing-Well-30th-Anniversary-Nonfiction/dp/0060891548/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1444647565&sr=1-1

Writings by Helen Sword     http://www.helensword.com/

Paula LaRocque website and books :       http://paulalarocque.com/

http://www.amazon.com/Paula-LaRocque/e/B001K8ZUGA

Hilary Glasman-Deal book 

http://www.amazon.com/Hilary-Glasman-Deal/e/B002TPVL5W

Wayne C. Booth, Gregory G. Colomb, Joseph M. Williams  book

http://www.amazon.com/Research-Edition-Chicago-Writing-Publishing/dp/0226065669

Lynn Gaertner-Johnston writings:

http://www.businesswritingblog.com/  AND  http://www.syntaxtraining.com/

http://www.amazon.com/Lynn-Gaertner-Johnston/e/B00GVFTELY

Paul McFedries               http://www.wordspy.com/

Michael Quinion              http://www.worldwidewords.org/personal.htm

Language Log                                    http://languagelog.ldc.upenn.edu/nll/

Harvard College Writing Center

http://writingcenter.fas.harvard.edu/pages/resources

http://writingcenter.fas.harvard.edu/pages/strategies-essay-writing

http://writingcenter.fas.harvard.edu/pages/topic-sentences-and-signposting

Harvard Brief Guides to Writing in the Disciplines

https://writingproject.fas.harvard.edu/pages/brief-guides-disciplines

The University of Manchester   Academic Phrasebank http://www.phrasebank.manchester.ac.uk/

Purdue OWL   (Online Writing Lab)   https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/

University of Leicester  Writing Resources      http://www2.le.ac.uk/offices/ld/resources/writing/writing-resources/science

Research Tips from The University at Buffalo     http://library.buffalo.edu/help/research-tips/

The Cornell Notes Method     https://www.timeatlas.com/cornell-note-template/

Know Your Phrase                   http://www.knowyourphrase.com/

Verbatim (it also has an extensive list useful links, see below) http://www.verbatimmag.com/links.html

Steven Darian, Olga Ilchenko 
Impact: writing for business, technology and science [Text] / Steven Darian Olga Ilchenko; Nat. acad. of sciences of Ukraine, Research a. educational center for foreign lang. – 2nd ed. – Kyiv : Akademperiodyka, 2012. – 231 p. – (Project “Ukrainian scientific book in a foreign language”). – ISBN 978-966-360-196-0

=======================

Some other useful stuff for bookaholics, students and teachers of English,  and just for fun…

https://www.goodreads.com/

http://bookshopblog.com/

http://www.fluentu.com/english/blog/

http://reallifeglobal.com/

Espresso English with Shayna     https://www.espressoenglish.net/

Questia     e.g.      http://blog.questia.com/2017/02/7-writing-tips-grammar-rules-for-research-papers/

Fred Schindler’s writings

http://ieeexplore.ieee.org/stamp/stamp.jsp?arnumber=7449088

http://ieeexplore.ieee.org/stamp/stamp.jsp?arnumber=7348840

http://ieeexplore.ieee.org/stamp/stamp.jsp?arnumber=7590117

Vincent Carlos writings   https://www.linkedin.com/today/author/vincentcarlos

 

 

 

Advertisements