“I have never let my schooling interfere with my education.” —Mark Twain

With (almost:) everyone back to school, let’s have a closer look at what makes “education” vs. “schooling” so different.  The two notions (and two relevant words – both in English and in Ukrainian) are definitely not the same. While “schooling” (“vyshkil,” in Ukrainian)  deals with formal training at some kind of educational establishment,  “education” (“osvita,” in Uktainian), on the other hand, means much more than mere schooling. It’s in-depth learning of the world in its totality. It’s getting experience. Because, as professor Steven Darian puts it, “Experience is not just the best teacher. In the long run, it’s the only teacher.”

P.S. On a lighter side, let me quote one of the coolest authors of all time,  James Thurber. In “Come Across with the Facts,” he writes:
“Do you believe that education in our time and nation is going to improve?”
lovely women often ask me at cocktail parties.
“No, ma’am,” I always reply, politely, “I think it is going to hell.”

